Am I getting phished?
Even the web’s savyiest users are getting “phished” today by scammers. Here’s a questionable e-mail from PayPal, see if you can tell if I’m getting phished or not… (I have not altered this e-mail in any way, except cropping it to fit on the screen)
———————————–

















Let me guess: The href of the link actually points to “paypall.com”, “paipal.com” or some IP address located in Novosibirsk, Russia?
Comment by Freeridin' Franklin — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 6:07 pm
hmmm? 35th of january?
Comment by jenkki immigrant — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 6:14 pm
It is definitely a phish.
Mouseover the link, I’ll think that you’ll find that the link does not go where it says that it does.
Read:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/general/SecuritySpoof-outside
Report it, and needless to say– don’t click the link or give them any information.
Comment by frumiousb — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 6:16 pm
I smell a phish:
http://www.antiphishing.org/phishing_archive/06-25-04_PayPal_(Verify_and_update_your_PayPal_information).html
Comment by Mr. Anonymous — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 6:18 pm
That’s exactly a phish, paypal never sending message without your name on the first row. I receiving tons of emails like that. Sometimes I send em to spoof@paypal.com just to check. They answering me with confirmation of phishing attempt.
Comment by Igor — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 6:23 pm
There are several red flags on that mail, although it is a fairly good attempt at phishing. I noticed at least the lack of presupplied personal information (first name), request for personal information, short deadline (a week instead of at least a month), highlighted deadline, mispresented deadline, assurance of no trouble in the future, claiming to be an anti-phishing procedure, threatening to close the account, and especially the hyperlink to the a page.
Comment by Anonymous — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 6:49 pm
I’ve received plenty of these even though I don’t even have a valid PayPal account…
Sheesh.
Comment by Paula — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 7:04 pm
Yeah yeah, it’s mos def a phish, I think it was the January 35th in bold red letters that gave it away!
Comment by Phil — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 8:03 pm
A collague of mine told me he got a flood of those e-mails after he posted some critical comments on an American right-wing blog. Are you sure your right-wing credentials are up to standard, Phil?
Comment by Söderberg — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 8:39 pm
My junkmail address draws a few of those every now and then. As the address is already a garbage dump, I sometimes provide Harry P. Mulquist’s information.
Comment by Antti (the redneck one) — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 10:07 pm
January 35?..How often does that come along (*joke*)? Hah, that’s worse than February 29th.
That’s a good one. Print it off and post it on your Wall of Shame for laughs.
Comment by Mo — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 11:12 pm
Damn, my friend told me to read this one blog, I think I was philled
Comment by Hank W. — Mon, Jan 30th, 2006 @ 11:17 pm
It is indeed a phishing attempt, and got me for a moment on Dec 30, when I first received this (and reported it to Paypal). it is actually well made, as it just first asks you to update your profile (i.e. not asking to send anything by email). What I did was that I logged in to Paypal (throught paypal.com) and couldn’t find anything wrong in the account (surprise, surprise :)). I wondered, and went back to the email, read it through again, and finally just clicked the provided link: I was then shown a login screen (exactly like Paypal’s own, and without thinking just typed in the username and password and got to a page that asked me to update my information, including credit card number. I then glanced at the URL, and saw that it was no longet http://www.paypal.com, but http://www.paypal-accounts.info, and the case was clear. Naturally I went back to my account and changed the password (as I probably had sent them ovet to them through the fake login screen). Hell, I thought I would never be fooled…
Comment by Jussi — Tue, Jan 31st, 2006 @ 12:31 pm
ITS REAL!! Give them your info and tell us of your experience
Comment by D — Tue, Jan 31st, 2006 @ 3:04 pm
Heh - I get about two of these each day:)
To remember:
-PayPal never asks you to change your login/password
-The links and IPs within the emails don’t point to PayPal
Comment by Mikko Sandt — Thu, Feb 2nd, 2006 @ 7:58 pm
Great site!
____________________________________________________________
Bit Design is a Belgrade, Yugoslavia web design agency. Bit Design provides cost-effective corporate branding and Internet solutions for start-up and established businesses.
http://www.seo.co.yu
Comment by Bit Design — Wed, Mar 15th, 2006 @ 9:33 am
Great site!
_____________________________________________________
Bit Design is a Belgrade, Yugoslavia web design agency. Bit Design provides cost-effective corporate branding and Internet solutions for start-up and established businesses.
http://www.seo.co.yu
http://www.bitdesign.co.yu
Comment by Bit Design — Fri, Mar 17th, 2006 @ 1:39 pm